Nations of the World – Fun Facts About Swaziland!

Did you know- On September 6, 1968, the country – one of the most ethnically homogeneous republics on the Planet– proclaimed its national independence as the Kingdom of Swaziland within the Commonwealth. It thus became the forty-second independent country in Africa. Since that time, it has become one of the few monarchies in the Third World. For almost 70 years, prior to 1968, the United Kingdom had ruled the country as a British High Commission Territory. In fact, Swaziland was one of Britain’s last colonies on the African mainland.


Did you know- The modern country of Swaziland lies in southern Africa and is completely surrounded by formerly white-ruled South Africa and Mozambique (ex Portuguese colony).It covers about 6,704 square miles ( 17,363 km). The African monarchy–about the size of New Jersey–is the world’s 158th largest nation in area. What is more, it is one of the smallest countries by area among the former British colonies in Africa, along with Lesotho, Mauritius, Seychelles, and Gambia. This tiny kingdom enjoys a favorable climate. Most of the nation is covered with mountains (up to 4,500 feet), rainforests, and valleys.

Summer Olympics

Did you know- In 1968, the kingdom was one of the new nations of the world, but it did not become an Olympic country until 1972.

Foreign Relations

Video Link :

Did you know- The Kingdom of Swaziland, once an anti-Communist nation, maintains close diplomatic and economic ties with South Africa, and Japan, as well as South Korea and the United States of America. Since then, it is known for its strong ties with London. In the meantime, since its independence (1968), Swaziland is one of the few African states in the world that has not had diplomatic ties with the People’s Republic of China.

Water Resources

Did you know- Despite the country’s size -one of the smallest nations on Earth- the Kingdom of Swaziland is one of sub-Saharan Africa’s well-watered areas. Like Suriname, Solomon Islands, and Norway, it is home to a number of rivers. Major rivers include: the Ingwavuna river in the south, the Makondo river in the southwest, the Usutu and Ngwempisi rivers in the west, and Lomti and Black Umbeluzi rivers in the north.


Article Source:

shared on